top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Wood Burned Cutting Boards


I started doing this when I was having trouble coming up with gifts for loved ones for Christmas. You always need that last small gift to put it over the top!


Obviously, using cutting boards that are unfinished is a lot easier. However, cutting boards are usually sold with some type of sealant on them; just know that you might have a tough task ahead of you if you come across a stubborn sealant. These are bamboo cutting boards, and they burned quite nicely!


When I first started wood-burning, it took me a while to get used to burning into the grain. I bought the cheapest wood burning tool with only one attachment; I have since bought a tool with multiple attachments and variable heat options for different discolorations. I haven't had a need to use all those different features, but I'll be ready when that happens!


The important thing when wood burning is to always remember which way the grain is going. Also, GO SLOW!!! Don't rush it, because one small groove or deviation could really mess things up! When burning with the grain, the wood burning tool will stay pretty straight. However, when working perpendicular to the grain, things could get bumpy.


As you can see above, whether it's a simple design or something complex, the contrast between burned wood and natural is really bold and clear.


The Philadelphia Eagles board was made for a fellow Eagles fan as a gift. I'm a big fan as well, so I definitely wanted to hang on to this one when I got done! It took about 8 hours total between laying out the design, stenciling, outlining, and burning. The 'Tis the Season' only took about 45 minutes with a much simpler design.


The blank bamboo boards cost between $5-$15 depending on size, thickness, etc., but they look a lot more valuable with a beautiful design! With just a bit of a time investment, anyone can do it!


-Kevin

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page