top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

A Much Too Early Pumpkin


Yes, I am aware it's only May!


Doesn't this just jump out at you as something my Mother-in-Law would have me do?


Well, if that's what you thought, then you're right!


As I mentioned on a previous post, my Mother-in-Law and I are going to be in a craft fair in September. She's building up her stock, and she asked if we could do some "collab" pieces, using some of her stuff and my stuff.


Since the fair is in September, she had an idea to make a Halloween wreath; with a custom reclaimed wood pumpkin right in the center...


That's where I come in!

I have some long, thick strips of reclaimed wood that I had no idea what to do with. They are about 2" X 2" and varying lengths. Never really had a use for them...


Until now!


I ran the strips through my table saw to cut them in half lengthwise. That makes them more appropriate for what I need.

Then, I sketched out the rough outline of a pumpkin on a piece of thin backer board. Since it's made of reclaimed wood, this pumpkin needs to be an antique-ish style pumpkin; rustic and irregular.


To the scroll saw!

I cut out the pumpkin using my scroll saw. Then, I gave the edges a light sanding before moving on.

I cut the reclaimed wood strips down so they could fit over the pumpkin backerboard outline (I promise, it's under there somewhere!).


I mocked it up to make sure that everything fits and there's good coverage. Also, I alternated the wood grains and colors to make it look more authentic!

Next, I clamped the reclaimed wood into position and flipped it over. I added some wood glue as well just to help keep everything secured.

I pre-drilled some pilot holes and uses 1/2" screws to secure the reclaimed wood to the backerboard.


Back to the scroll saw!

After cutting it out, I just gave the edges a sanding and she's all done!


If you've seen my other posts where I've done holiday-themed reclaimed wood pieces, then this was same-old same-old. And really, it was! I made this for my Mother-in-law to put in a wreath and sell...


But, she saw it, and she doesn't think she can part with it. She's probably going to end up keeping it for herself. I guess I'll invoice her one of these days!


-Kevin


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page