top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Where's the BBQ at?

Updated: Jan 12, 2019


My daughter's first birthday party, my wife and I went all out. We rented a building, invited all of our friends and family, and did all the party planning ourselves. It was quite an occasion! On the menu for the party was pulled pork, that we made ourselves.


A few weeks earlier, we were in Hobby Lobby when we saw a sign that looked a lot like this one! It was about $30. My wife really wanted it for our kitchen, and also our daughter's party as a decoration. I looked to my wife, and told her I could make it. So, when I got home, I got to work.


I found some scrap common board I had lying around, and sketched out the design for the pig. I used my scroll saw to cut it out and sanded it down. The letters were traced from a stencil and then routed out. The sign in the store had the letters painted on, but I couldn't bring myself to take the easy road like that!


Once sanded down, I stained the entire sign with Minwax Dark Walnut stain (minus the letters). I then painted the letter wells with white paint. When I finished my last sign (The Olivia Picture Wall Sign), I really liked the contrast with the white paint against the dark wood, so I went with that once again. People at Olivia's birthday party loved the sign, and it got a lot of compliments. No one knew that it wasn't store bought! Cheers to saving a buck!


-Kevin



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page