top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

The One with the Friends Hanging Picture Sign


Ignore the feet, I had to snap this quickly on Christmas morning because I forgot to do so beforehand!


So, my wife sent me this idea and wanted me to make it for my sister-in-law for Christmas. It's a sign with the "Friends" logo. Not pictured (because the sign is on top of it) is a string with clips; these clips are to hold pictures of her friends.


This sign was quite simple. I used a piece of 3/4" common board cut to 24 inches long and 8 inches wide. The edges were made from the same piece of board, 1" wide to frame the sign and give it depth. After sanding all the wood down, I glued the edges with wood glue and clamped it for 24 hours to let it dry. I used 1" nails to nail the edges into the board from the back for extra security.


I used rose gold spray paint to spray the whole sign down, being very careful of drips. After it dried, I stenciled the letters onto the board. I used white Sharpie paint pens to color in the letters. Like I mentioned before, the pens offer more stability and consistency.


Once all the paint was dried, I covered it with water-based poly to protect it. Once that was given time to dry, I hung the twine using staples on the backside; long enough so it would hang down below. Some hanging hardware on the back, and this was good to go!


My sister-in-law is very difficult to find presents for, but I think she liked this one. Once it's filled with pictures of her and her friends, I think she'll like it even more!


-Kevin

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Σχόλια


bottom of page