top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Taking a Stab at Furniture Making...


I've been wanting to make a piece of furniture for a little while now. I've got a Kreg jig, and I've really been wanting to put it to the test!


I came across some plans to make a bench using 2X4s and pinewood panels, which are both things I am familiar with and that I can easily get! But I'm also going to add a bit of my own style to make it my own!


Let's get started!

I went out and got some 16-foot 2X6 planks. In the store, I cut the planks in half to give me (4) 8-foot planks so I could get them in my car. I had to fold the seats down, but I got them home!


I already have (2) 4 foot X 12" panels that are 3/4" thick that I bought as stock. That being said, I should have all the wood I need to make the bench!

Since these planks are 2X6 and not 2X4, I had to shave them down lengthwise. I put the excess to the side to use for later!


After cutting them to right width, I decided on making the height of the bench 18 inches. That's a comfortable sitting height for bending over and taking off/putting on shoes, etc. So, I cut 6 pieces of 2X4 at 18 inches. These will be the legs!

Next, I used the excess that I cut off each plank (approx. 2" strips) to be the cross planks for the frame. I want there to be 2 "openings" on the shelves to hold a couple baskets or crates. So, I decided on 20" wide X 16" tall openings; this is safe for most crates and large containers to comfortably fit. So, I cut the excess planks to 20" each until I had eight!


Now, it's time to assemble the frames!

I used pocket holes in the back of the 2X2 pieces and attached them to the 2X4 legs. I also used wood glue for added security. When attaching the bottom horizontal planks, I made sure they were 2" from the bottom. This is just for aesthetic reasons; I want the shelf to sit off the floor a little bit.


Now, to attach the frames to each other!

The pinewood planks that I want to use are not quite 12-inches wide (they are actually 11.25"). I'm going to be making the shelf 11.25" wide, so that's how long the 2X4 planks need to be as well that connect the frames!

So, I went ahead and cut (4) pieces of 2X4 at 11.25" long. These will be the pieces that directly join the frames to each other.

I drilled out pocket holes in each of the 2X4s. I used 2.5" Kreg screws to attach them to the frame, with some wood glue for added security.


To the shelf!

I test-fitted the plank into the frame. I did have to trim it down about 4" so that it fit appropriately without overlapping.

On the underside of the shelf, I drilled a bunch of pocket holes. I used 1.5" Kreg screws to attach the shelf to the frame.


Once the shelf was in, I screwed everything together. Then, I flipped it over.

Excellent!


But, I forgot to put a support beam in the center to support the weight of someone sitting on the bench!

So, I just cut another 11.25" long piece of 2X4, drilled some pocket holes and attached it to the frame...


Easy peesy!


Now that the frame is done, it's time to move on to the decorative "Xs"

I used 2X4 pieces for the "Xs" on each side. I first made a single diagonal board piece and fit it into place. Then, I used a "mock-up" piece of wood to mark where I would need to make the cuts to continue the diagonal of the "X."


I attached the "X" using 2" screws fro the top and the bottom. The top screw, though visible now, won't be seen after the top is done. To secure the center loose pieces to the solid diagonal, I used wood glue and clamps.


Moving on to the bench top!

I used my second piece of 4 foot X 11.25" board and secured it to the frame using 2" screws. I didn't trim it down like I did with the shelf because I need the extra 2" on each end to secure it to the 2X4s running across.


I'm planning on doing a reclaimed wood design on the top of the bench, so the screws won't be visible once everything is all said and done!

I decided to make a frame around the top of the bench to house the reclaimed wood design. That way, the top will be more flush. I decided to use the strips left over from cutting down the 2X6s for this!

I secured the long frame pieces to the bench using 2" screws from the bottom with wood glue for added security.


The pieces of the frame couldn't be secured using screws because of the "X," so I used wood glue and clamps...

I left the clamps on overnight and let it sit for 24 hours before removing them.


Next step is sanding the whole bench down!

I used my palm sander with 120 grit sandpaper to sand down the splinters and round all the edges and corners. Then, I wiped down the entire bench with a wet shop rag to remove the sawdust.


On to stain!

I decided on Minwax Dark Walnut stain for the bench. I applied it using a shop rag. It did take some finesse to get into the corners and the other tight spots, but I got it done!


I let the stain dry fully overnight before handling.


All that's left to do is the reclaimed wood design up top!

I decided on a "strip" design using my reclaimed wood strips I had in stock. I did a similar design on the front of the doors to the toy box storage piece I just did (check it out!).


I pieced the different strips of reclaimed wood together to make a cohesive design; all the pieces are shades of either white, gray, green or natural wood. All of these colors are very neutral, so they'll look good in just about every home!


Once I fit everything together, I used wood glue to secure the reclaimed wood strips to the wood underneath...

I applied weight to the top using what I had in my workshop. I also put a clamp on one end, because the wood was separating just a little bit. It's not really a big deal, because it's just acting as a frame, so I just dripped a bit of wood glue in the openings and clamped it shut for piece of mind.


I let the wood glue dry overnight with the weight and the clamp before moving on.


Last step is to seal the entire bench!

I decided on Varathane Water-Based Semi-Gloss spray polyurethane for this piece. Because of the inconsistencies in the reclaimed wood surface, I had to go with a spray to really get every section covered. I sprayed every inch of the whole bench and let it fully dry, which only took about 10-15 minutes!

Once the bench was fully dried, I flipped it over and screwed rubber non-slip "feet" into each of the 6 legs. That way, it''s elevated off the floor and won't scratch or slide around. Plus, the feet really leveled the whole bench out nicely, and it's as solid as a rock!


I flipped it over and took a step back...

And just like that, my first foray into furniture making is complete!

I have no idea what I'm going to do with this one! I mean, I'm sure I can find a place for it, but I'll definitely try and sell it to see if someone wants it for their home! That's the good part of making things that I personally like:


If I can't unload it, then I'll just hang onto it!


I also planned on putting 2 wooden crates on the shelf for contained storage. And, if I can't sell it, I'll definitely end up doing that to turn it into practical storage in my house. The crates run about $12 each at Home Depot, but I'm going to keep an eye out for a deal or coupon at JO-ANN's, Hobby Lobby or Michael's and see if I can save some money!


I really like how the top came out, especially after the poly coat!

It darkened up the barn wood nicely, and gave it a nice shine! I did sand it down a little bit before poly just to remove the serious splinters, but you can only "life-proof" reclaimed wood so much!


I'm so glad that I made a furniture piece from start to finish! I learned a whole lot on this project; I found some things I could have done differently and some short-cuts that could have helped me as well. Not to toot my own horn, but I'm extremely proud that I was able to pull off a furniture piece from scratch that is as strong and durable as this one is! I had my wife, myself, and my daughter sit on it, and it's as sturdy as can be!


I have had my fair share of furniture fails; whether it was that I didn't have the right tools, or I cut corners, or a general lack of experience in woodworking and building materials. They never turned out right!


But this one feels like vindication. It was a true test and really showed me how far I've come in my craft. I'm so much more comfortable and passionate about my woodworking these days, and I can't wait for the next challenge!


Stay tuned!


-Kevin

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page