top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Spring Cleaning Easter Bunny!


I've decided to do some Spring cleaning of my reclaimed wood stash. The first day of Spring was March 20th, so it seems appropriate to do some cleaning now...


First, I'm going through my scrap strips of wood. These strips have been sitting and collecting dust. I don't have enough to do something substantial with them, but I also didn't want to throw them away.


Perfect for a project like this!


Since we are doing Spring cleaning, it seems appropriate to make an Easter bunny! I've seen a couple different ones on Pinterest, but I'm going to do my own thing with what I've got!


Let's go!

I used a piece of posterboard and sketched out 1/2 of the bunny design. Then, I cut it out using a box cutter.

I translated the design onto a piece of backer board and I mirrored it to create the full shape.


To the scroll saw to cut it out!

Now that I've got the shape cut out, it's time to find the wood strips to lay on top!

This is a random collection of wood strips from a bunch of different projects, like frames, quilt squares, etc...


So, I layered them onto the cut out to make sure everything fits and covers!


Once I was sure that all the strips covered, I flipped the whole piece over...

I applied wood glue to the front side of the backer board as added security before laying it face-down on the reclaimed wood strips...


Now, to screw the backer board to the wood strips!

I used small, 1/2" screws to secure the backer board to the reclaimed wood. I used at least 2 screws on each strip to prevent shifting or movement.


Now, back to the scroll saw to trim off the excess!

Because of the varying thicknesses of wood, the scroll saw took some time to cut off all the excess and stay on track.


To smooth the sides out and remove the splinters, I sanded the edges down using my belt sander...

Looks great!


But it's missing something...


A BOW TIE!

I had a very thin piece of reclaimed wood left over from a previous project. I sketched out the design and then cut it out using the scroll saw, then sanded it down using my belt sander to smooth out the edges.


But it's still missing something...

That's it!


I had a spare cabinet doorknob to add a little accent to the bow tie.

I drilled a hole all the way through the reclaimed wood and the bow tie to secure the knob from the backside of the piece.


And that's it! All done!


A nice, fun and easy project to kick off my spring cleaning! Stay tuned to see what else I will be making as part of the clean-out process!


If you're interested in this piece, check it out on my Etsy page!


See ya next time!


-Kevin

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page