top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Reclaimed Wood Star


So, I had a very exciting weekend! I went up near the center of the state and bought a bunch of reclaimed wood for next to nothing up in Sanford, FL. Huge, thick slabs of reclaimed pine and old barnwood that I just got around to finding a spot for in my workshop.

What this wood cleanup and organizing showed me is that I have too much stock! I'm happy to have it all, but getting all this new (old) wood makes my old (old) wood look a little...well, old. Ironic, since it's all old wood...


But, I digress...


What this means is that I need to get rid of the stock that I've been "saving," for whatever reason, that I don't particularly care for that much. That way, I can make room for new, more exciting wood stock.


Because right now, I'm at max capacity. My eyes may wander, but my wallet will remain closed :(


This leads me into the wood stars. These things are everywhere on Pinterest! It's like I can't get past 10 pins before another one pops up!


I took it as a sign... I can use my old wood stock and make some cool stars! Shouldn't take too long and it can be a good way to repurpose the wood and make something cool!


Let's get started!

Every good geometric piece that I've done has started with a good template. And this one is no exception.


I found the template online, but it was really tiny. So, I blew it up to the size that I wanted, and printed it out on cardstock. Then, I cut it out. Since the stars are made up of 5 identical pieces, I only need one template, so that'll do!

Last time I went to Sanford, I was shopping for wood to use in the Reclaimed Wood Quilt Square (check out the blog entry!). After picking out some different colored barnwood for the design and talking with the gentleman there, he told me that he might have some scrap planks that could be perfect.


He brought out a huge stack of thin wood planks that looked really grisly, but I loved the look. I offered to pay him for the scraps, and he shook his head and said I was doing him a favor.


What a guy!

That scrap wood was taking up room in my workshop, and I have no idea why! I got it for free, for God's sake! Why not use it?


Well, today's the day.


I flipped the planks over to the smooth side and transferred the pattern. Depending on the size of the plank, I could get 2-3 points.


Let's cut them out!

I cut rhe 5 points out using my scroll saw. As you can see above, I had to put them together just to see how it was going to look! The different striations in the wood going in different directions is such a rustic look.


Now, to attach it all together!


Kind of giving off a Frankenstein-y vibe huh?


I used a combination of wood glue and staples. The staples are only on the back, right across the joint, so I'm relying on the wood glue to dry and really keep it together.

As you can see in the first picture, I had a little "crack" in one of the points. It's to be expected with this old, reclaimed stuff. Instead of cutting out another point, I just glued it back together and used a couple staples there as well. Once it all dries, I think it'll just add to the overall rustic look.

Once it was all stapled and glued, as an added precaution, I clamped the joints together and let it dry overnight.

It came out great! And so simple! This thing really didn't take much time at all, the longest part is just waiting for the wood glue to dry!

This is another project, much like the last one, that I don't know what I'm going to do with!


But, I really wanted to make it!


I don't have a person in mind for it, so I'll go ahead and put it up on the store. Check it out if you're interested!


I have about 10 more planks that I need to use up, so I'll see if there are any other geometric shapes I can make, and maybe make another star or two. Either way, check back to see what happens next!


-Kevin

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page