top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

One More Before Re-stock Weekend!


This weekend, we are heading up to Sarasota to a wood warehouse that is having a BLOWOUT SALE!


All different types of wood, different cuts, and cheap prices!


Can't wait!


We also scoped out a couple of salvage shops and antique stops while we are up there, so we have a busy Saturday planned!


Now that my reclaimed wood stash is at a manageable capacity, thanks to my 3 quilt squares and wood star, I can actually check out some wood and bring it back home!


However, I wanted to make just one more quilt square before this weekend, just to safe and make sure I have enough space for the incoming wood!

So, lets go!

This one was a little different to start off. I actually began with the frame this time. I usually leave it for last, but I wanted to make the frame first this time around...


Can't tell you why, that's just what I was feeling!


As you may be able to tell, the wood pieces I used for the frame are all just a little different! These are pieces from the other frames that I've made for the other quilt squares that I had left over. I cut them all to 12" inner edges with 45 degree angles on the ends!


The name of the game is using up the scraps, and that's what I did! Plus, this will make the quilt square look even more rustic!

Same combo as before to make the frame; I used wood glue on the joints along with flat corner braces for added security.

The edges were slightly different widths, so they don't match up perfectly.


No problem!


We're going for rustic here people!


Time for backer board!

I used the same backer board I've been using so far on all the quilt squares. Durable and cheap! I screwed it in to the backside of the frame with 1/2" screws.


Then, I flipped it over to see how it looked!

Damn good!


Because I've done quite a few of these recently, I pretty much know the general dimensions of the inset pieces by heart. So, this time I'm basically "winging" it without a 1:1 template.


Should be fun!

I cut the wood scraps into 1 3/8" strips to make the parallelograms. The strips are then cut to exactly 2 7/8" on the long sides with 45 degree cuts on either side.


I also found a teeny bit of red wood that I had hiding away, so I decided to use it on this project. The grey wood is the leftover that I used for the "Another Awesome Quilt Square!" project (check it out!).

So that does it for the parallelogram pieces! I went with more of an alternating color pattern for this one, and I'm really liking how the red plays off the other wood and works nicely with the black!

I used some of the white barn-wood panel that I found for the last quilt square; I also alternated the direction of the grain for added symmetry. I really like how everything is pointing towards the center point!

For the corners, I used 2" squares of really deep-grooved dark brown wood; just a small scrap left over from the first quilt square I ever did. I was holding on to it for so long, and I found a great use for it!

The final pieces were 4" triangles out of really dark wood; they almost look like extensions of the frame!


And just like that, the pieces are cut! Time to wood glue them into the frame!

While I was gluing the pieces in, I made a last minute change to the black pieces. Two of the pieces have noticeable gashes and screw holes. So, I alternated them to different sides to break it up a little bit.

This one came out really nice! I like the symmetry and the clean lines. Everything really lines up well, almost like an optical illusion!


And with that, I think I've cleared enough space in my workshop! I can fully enjoy my weekend wood shopping trip and load up! I'm hoping to gather some really unique wood to use in future projects!

Stay tuned for more projects!


-Kevin


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page