top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

My Impulsive, Must-Make Project


This is a perfect example of what happens when I see something that intrigues me on Pinterest and I have to make it right away.


This piece popped up on my Pinterest feed and I was really intrigued by the pattern and just the way it looked overall. Check it out using the link below:


https://www.pinterest.com/pin/614389574144379568/


No idea what I'm going to use it for.

No practical reason for making it.

Nobody asked for it.

It's not needed as a gift.


But, I must make it


Let's get started!

I started with a piece of board left over from the "Savannah Sign" (check out the blog entry!). It's spruce wood, about 9.5 inches wide and 20 inches long.


The wood piece on Pinterest was linked to an Etsy store, but they actually sold out of it. Unfortunately, when that happens, you can't even see the listing at all. It just takes you to a page that suggests other things you may like that are similar...


Bummer...


So, I had to wing it with the measurements. But, based on the picture reference, I need 12 identical rhombuses (or diamonds).


And I was really dead-set on using this board!


So, I decided to cut the board into (3) 3-inch wide strips using my table saw.

Then, I marked every 3.5 inches and cut the boards using my miter saw at 30 degree angles. Making sure that I cut each one in the same spot, I ended up with 12 identical rhombuses of wood.

Because I'm so impatient, I had to see how it looked, even though it hadn't been sanded quite yet...

The pieces don't really fit next to each other quite yet, but that's because there's a bunch of wood chips and shavings alongside the wood pieces that are "jamming" it up!


But I'm really digging it!


To the sander!

I used my palm sander for this sanding job. I had to remove all the splinters first and make sure that the sides were smooth. Then, I rounded out the corners to give it the same look as the picture reference.


I wiped down the wooden pieces with a damp cloth to remove the dust and lined them up next to each other to see how it looked. I think it looks awesome!


But we're not done yet!


On to stain!

I used Minwax Provincial stain on the wood pieces. It was the closest color to the one in the picture, and I really like how it looks. I rubbed the stain on using a shop rag to make sure it wasn't too dark.


I let the pieces all fully dry overnight.


Once they were all dried, it was time to figure out how to attach them together. But first, a little preview of what it's going to look like when it's all done!

Looking good!


Now, in an ideal situation, I would just glue the individual pieces to each other and let them all dry. In fact, I could very well do that!


But...


I want this piece to be durable and to maintain the way it's integrity. So, whether it's hung on a hook, leaned on a wall, or laying flat on a table, the joints won't be under duress or potentially come apart!


So, in a good way, I guess I cheated a little bit...

I laid the pattern down when assembled over a piece of thin backer-board. Then, I traced around the pattern using a pencil. Finally, I cut the hexagon out using my scroll saw.


*I actually cut it a little smaller than I marked out because I wanted to make sure that the backer-board doesn't "peek" out from behind the design.


Now, to attach the design to the backer-board!

For this, I used wood glue very liberally on the back of each piece. Then, I placed each piece on the backer-board. It took some fine tuning and moving pieces around to get a perfect fit, but it ultimately worked out. I used a heavy tool box on the top to weigh down the pieces to make sure the glue compressed well, and I let it dry for a couple of hours.


Once the glue was dry enough so the piece could be moved around without shifting, I moved on to poly!

I sprayed it down with water-based matte polycrylic. I wanted to maintain that rustic feel while also protecting it. Gloss poly would have been too loud for this one!


I let the poly dry to the touch before handling it (about 30 minutes).

Voila!


Now, I definitely got a little impatient on this piece towards the end. Rest assured, after the photo shoot, this bad boy is sitting by the box fan on a flat surface to continue drying for at least 24 hours!


This piece was born of pure impulsivity and passion. I saw something on Pinterest and I thought:


"I can do that. And, I have to do it right now..."


So, I did it.


Not to say that most projects I try to imitate/emulate from Pinterest doesn't start out in a similar fashion, but this one was different. It was like something deep inside me told me that I had to do it. And I had to do it right away or I was going to go nuts.


And, now that it's done, I can rest easy! But what do I do with it?


Well, since it wasn't a commission or made as a gift for anyone, I'll stick it up on my "Store" page to see if anyone may want it! Check it out if you're interested!


Until next time!


-Kevin

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page