top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Don't Forget to Eat!


My wife and I were up at a HUGE antique show in Mount Dora, and she saw signs like this made out of metal. Of course, those pieces were EXTREMELY expensive (+$50). She really wanted one for our kitchen. So, I asked her if she would be interested in a wooden one, and she said "sure!"


Now, I had been wanting to add a new tool to my arsenal for a while, and I had a Home Depot gift card burning a hole in my pocket! So, I did some research and bought myself a Scroll Saw! This tool was considered a "must have" by everyone I talked to. This project was my scroll saw's maiden voyage.


I used some 3/4" common board and sketched out the design. Slowly but surely, I cut the design out of the board. I sanded it down, painted the sign with the light blue paint I used on Olivia's kitchen project. I sanded down the edges of the sign after paint and ran some dark walnut stain along the bare wood around the edges to give it a distressed look.


My wife LOVED the sign, it's currently hanging above our kitchen window! The scroll saw did an amazing job, and became my favorite tool after this project!


-Kevin


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page