top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Dad's Shop Eagles Sign


So, I cleared out my sunroom and scrubbed the tile. I dusted, I cleaned and I threw out a BUNCH of garbage. All this work, because I had big plans for this space! My wife needed some convincing; she wanted to put her containers full of teacher stuff back there (insert eye roll). Luckily, I won that battle, and started setting up my woodworking stuff and tools back there.


I set up my work stations. My tools all had a place. It was a BEAUTIFUL space. I just wanted to be there all the time. But, it was missing...something....


Hmm....


So, I got to work. As you may have been able to tell by my "Wood-burned Cutting Board" post, I am a huge Philadelphia Eagles fan. I wanted to try and incorporate the logo somehow, so I could give my shop a "man-cave-y" feel. I traced out the logo and the letters, all while making sure everything connected so I would only have 1 piece as a final result. This was an ambitious 2nd project for my brand new scroll saw, but I tend to shoot for the stars.


The cutting was tedious:, I'm not going to deny that! I used 3/4" common board (like most of my projects). I learned a lot about myself during this project. Definitely worked on my patience that day! I took my time and baby-d my new scroll saw the whole way!


After it was all cut out, I sanded it lightly and prepped a piece of wood to be the background. I stained the wood with Minwax dark walnut stain and routed the edges to give it a more finished look. I then painted the Eagle using interior 1-coat flat paint. This proved to be a bit of a mistake in hindsight, because it was thickened and it was difficult to get into the small holes and openings in the design. This took WAAAAY too long to paint with that paint I used. I would definitely spray paint next time for a more uniformed look.


In fact...


I have decided, since I've been writing this post, I'm going to go ahead and sand down the old paint and go over it with spray paint instead. I'll post pictures afterwards showing how it looks. Overall, a really nice project. Plus, it's always nice to challenge your limits of what you think you can do, and exceeding your expectations!


-Kevin

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page