top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Custom Wood Burned Signs

Updated: Jan 14, 2019



Custom signs are very rewarding to make, because you know for a fact that you are making something that has never been made before! I used references from other projects and sites, but the final product is one of a kind!


I bought the basswood rounds from Michael's when they were on sale, so they turned out to be pretty inexpensive. The designs were sketched out lightly using pencil and then burned using my cheap wood burning tool. When they were done, most got a coat of Minwax stain and poly to seal.


The "Wiley" family sign was for my Step dad and his new wife; they love going up to the Smoky Mountains as their escape, so I thought a simplistic mountain design would speak to them. I commemorated the year they got married on the sign, for that final custom touch. They loved it and have it hanging in their home!


The "Aguirre" family sign was for my Aunt and Uncle. They live in Colorado, and they really love the Rockies! As you can see, I went for a more realistic approach than the "Wiley" sign, making snow-capped mountains and realistic bird silhouettes. When I was making this sign, I was shocked to find out that they've only been married for 24 years at the time. Granted, that's a long time, but you would think that they've been married much longer! True love at it's finest.


The "Better in the Mountains" sign was made for my cousin Gabby for Christmas. As you can probably guess, she also lives in Denver. I made this sign to hang in her dorm room; more of a simplistic but hipster-esque approach. She's all about the mountains; she actually tried to teach me how to snowboard when I visited her. The key word being TRIED. I've never fallen down so many times in my life! This picture was taken before the sign was completed. I added a classic gray stain to the wood, giving it a weathered antique-y look. It fits her personality to a T, and I'm glad she's enjoying it to this day.


The "La Chiva" sign was made for my Uncle and Aunt in Colorado for Christmas. They actually opened a food truck and restaurant in Downtown Denver with the same name, so I made it for them as a congratulatory gift! It's currently hanging in their restaurant. If you're in the Denver area, check them out! their website is https://www.lachivacolombian.com/


-Kevin

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page