top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

Another Awesome Quilt Square!


Day 2 of scrap reclaimed wood clean out!


And I have to say, my reclaimed wood stash is already looking better and more organized after making just 1 quilt square. I had plans laid out for 2 more, including this one. The goal is to get them both done today!


That way, I can head into the work week with a nice, clean workshop!


No time to waste! Let's go!

So, as you can see, I have learned from my last quilt square (if you haven't read the entry, go check it out!) With this one, I color coded the different sections using some Sharpies. I also put measurements on the sides of the pieces for easy reference when cutting.


On to the cutting!

I started off with the wood I wanted to get rid of the most. I'm sure you recognize it from the Reclaimed Wood Star (check out the entry!). To cut the wood to the proper width, I used my table saw. To cut to length and to cut the 45 degree angles, I used my miter saw.

I decided to go with a more monochromatic theme on this quilt square. This should match better with different decors and won't be as "loud" as that green I used on the last one...

The parallelogram pieces are 2 7/8" on the long sides and 2" long on the shorter sides. I alternated the colors this time to give it a more double-star look!


The black wood is the same I used on the previous square; I got it at an antique show for cheap. It was actually pulled off an old outside "shed" at a factory in Pennsylvania.


I love how each piece of reclaimed wood has a story!

I added the gray triangles in keeping with the monochromatic theme; I also added some dark brown "rippled wood" squares to put in the corners.


Now, to fill in the other spots with some smaller triangles.

I had some beige-painted barn wood that came with the green planks I bought. I think it adds a nice touch on the outer edges.


Now that all the pieces are cut, it's time to make the frame!

I decided on using these ultra-thick reclaimed wood strips (about 1" thick) that I bought last weekend to make the frame. They were about 2" wide, so they won't overpower the wood pieces (which are also 2" wide max).


I cut them into (4) equal strips to make up the 12" X 12" frame.

To make this particular frame, I just measured the inside edges to 12" and cut 45 degree angles on the ends. I also wanted to make sure that the "cut end" was on the inside of the frame, keeping the reclaimed wood on the outer edges. It just looks more authentic!


Pretty simple, right?

Just like the last frame, I'm using a combination of wood glue and flat corner braces. The wood glue is just for added security, but not extremely necessary. The flat corner braces are incredibly cheap (no more than $3 per 4-pack), so I use them every time!

On to the backer board!

I bought this brand new sheet of backer board at Home Depot last night for about 7 bucks. It's sturdy and lightweight, so I like using it on these projects that don't really need any more added weight.


Trust me, this one will be heavy enough!


I used the same method for cutting it out as before; I traced the 12" X 12" square and then added about 1/2" around the whole perimeter to account for the overlap so it can be secured to the frame. Then, I used my scroll saw and cut along the line...

Shortly after this picture, I sanded the corners down to remove the splinters before attaching it to the frame. I secured the backer board to the frame using 1/2" screws (3 on each side).


Now, the flip!

I looks great! Super strong too!


Now, it's just like a giant puzzle. Getting everything to fit in this one was a breeze. Some patterns are easier than others to fit together, and this one just happened to be one of the easy ones! Lucky me!

I used wood glue to glue the pieces to the backer board, pressing them in firmly to make sure they adhere.


I left it sitting horizontally for 6 hours to make sure the pieces didn't move around or fall out. Once it was dry enough, I stood it up on one side and admired it...

This is definitely my favorite wood quilt I've done to date!


I don't know if it's the colors, the design, or maybe all of those things, but I feel like all the individual wood pieces work together really well to make this one. Even the frame looks fantastic!


Added bonus: Fewer reclaimed wood scraps in my workshop!


But I still want more open storage space!


Oh yeah, there's one more design sitting in my head. I'll be doing that next!


I'm not sure I want to part ways with this one just yet, but I'll test the market on my "Store" tab. If you're interested, go check it out!


Be sure to check back and see the next one!


-Kevin

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page