top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

A Sugary Sweet Project!


I kind of wanted a break from the projects I've been doing lately. It's been a lot of artwork and commissions. I wanted to make something for me! Something fun!


I was searching on Pinterest to get some inspiration, and I came across a Pin for a DIY wooden push-button candy dispenser...


SUPER COOL


But I can't take the credit for this one. I got the inspiration and the general plans from this nice, older gentleman's video:



He gives really detailed directions and makes it look simple, which was really helpful!


And, as always, my plan is to use the scrapwood that I have on hand only!


Let's go!

I used my 3/4" stock whiteboard that I have on hand to cut out the individual pieces. If you're curious about the dimensions of each, check out the YouTube link. The nice, older fellow provides some detailed plans in the description!


So, as you can see, I marked a couple of the pieces to be cut. The front piece is the one that looks like an "H." The top of the "H" will be where the "button" sits and the bottom opening of the "H" will be where the candy comes out. The piece up front is going to be the button. The two larger pieces in the center are the base and the top, which will remain unmarked (for now). Lastly, the 2 sides of the unit are on the far left. I need to cut out a little "notch" in each one for the button to "sit" in...


It's hard to put into words, so let's just take a look...

Okay, that's better.

As you can see, the side pieces have been indented so the button can fit inside the unit and the top can sit flush as well. I did this with a hacksaw, while being very careful not to cut too far in.


I also cut a piece of 2X4" to make the ramp that's sitting inside. This ramp is for the candy to "slide" down once it's dispensed.


After fitting all the pieces of the unit together, I used wood glue to assemble it and clamped it overnight.

For added security, I also used wood screws to secure the "box" to the base.


Next is the button!

I cut the button down to size and cut out a hole in the middle. When pushed, this button will glide, and the candy will fall in the hole and open up into the "slide." This is the only piece of the candy machine that will move, so it needs to fit perfectly. I mocked it up and it does!

Next, I drilled a shallow 3/8" hole in the end of the button..

And a deeper, corresponding hole on the back of the unit. This hole will keep the spring in place that allows the button to glide and return back to closed position.


I didn't have a spring on hand, so I picked up a multi-pack of 84 springs for under $5. I also have a bunch for future projects, if I need them!

I slipped the spring into place and tested it out; it moves nice and smooth!


Now, to the top of the unit!

I bought a case of 12 mason jars with lids at Walmart for around $9; I tried to look for just one, but oddly enough, I couldn't find one...


Since the mason jar will be the thing that holds the candy, I traced the lid on the top piece. The idea is to rout out the circle to the right depth so the lid will fit inside and not be visible...


To the router!

Uh oh... First "oopsie"


My router is a bit unruly at times. You may know that from my previous posts. I think I need a smaller, handheld unit for stuff like this.


But anyway, as you can see, this circle is not perfect! I even screwed the top piece to a larger board to make sure it didn't move when I was routing. But it still found a way to get away from me!


But, the lid fits nicely...So, no big deal...

Next, I used the hole in the button as a guide and translated it to the circle so they would match up properly. I cut it out using my scroll saw. After all that, and making sure the button and the top lined up properly, I screwed it into the unit. Turns out that I overshot the holes in the top, so I had to move them inward a little bit...


But man, it looks ugly...even uglier than before!


What can I do...?


And then an idea!

I cut a piece of backerboard to the exact dimensions of the top piece. Then, I traced the circle on this piece and cut it out using my scroll saw.

GENIUS!


Not only will this hide the misshaped jar-hole, but it will also hide the screw heads and extra holes!


Work smarter, not harder!

I used wood glue and clamps to adhere the backerboard to the wood top. I also super-glued the mason jar top into the hole for security. That way, I can just turn the unit upside down and unscrew the jar from the lid to refill it!


I let the whole piece dry overnight!


Time for sanding!

I smoothed out the edges of the top piece and rounded the corners. Since this will primarily be used by my daughter, I wanted to make sure that the whole thing was splinter free!

Looks really good!


At this point, I did a test of the whole thing with some Skittles left over from Easter.


The good news is that everything worked! The bad news is that the Skittles SHOT out of this thing at a high rate of speed with nothing to slow it down...not good for a 2-year-old whose reaction time is still developing! Plus, there's not really enough room to fit your hand below the slide to catch the candy!


Back to the shop to make a catcher!

I didn't want something big and bulky for this piece. I wanted something that would maintain the simplicity of the project, but would also work.

So, I decided on a little "U" shaped "catcher."


This little piece was made from scrap wood cut from another project. It was cut using my scroll saw and pieced together with super glue.


Now, it won't actually "catch" the candy, but it is parallel to the ground, so it will slow the candy down. Also, the walls on either side direct the candy down the chute nicely. And lastly, this piece extends out ja little bit from the unit. So my daughter, and whoever else wants to use this, can slip their hand underneath to catch the candy without a problem!


The "catcher" is a small piece, so I decided on super glue to attach it to the body. I let it dry for a couple hours with a clamp in position.


Now all the fabrication is done!


I gave the piece another thorough sanding. Then, I used a damp rag to remove the sawdust. Once it dried, I used a spray-on gloss poly on the entire piece to protect it. Since this will potentially be in the kitchen or another area with water, I definitely wanted it to be protected. It was quick dry poly, so it fully dried within 10 minutes!


I screwed on the mason jar filled with discount jellybeans...

And it's done!!


A quick test, and it works like a charm!


Pro Tip: Because of the texture and softness of jellybeans, I had to give the piece an occasional "shake" to get the jellybeans to move down in the jar. They tend to get slightly stuck together in the jar and require some breaking up! To avoid this, I think I'll switch the jellybeans out for more solid candies that maintain their shape better, possibly Skittles or M&M's.


As to be expected, my daughter LOVES it! She's all about cause and effect now, so this was something she could get an immediate reward from doing something simple. Not only that, but she shares my sweet tooth!


In fact, she likes it so much, that we came up with another purpose for it!

Since she's currently potty training and benefits from an occasional incentive, we decided to move it into the bathroom to reward her for sitting on the potty! She's a stubborn little toddler, so anything to help her get through potty training is worth it!


I really enjoyed making this one. Sometimes, I just need to make something "frivolous" for myself to keep my passion alive. I love doing everything that I post here, but these silly little "side projects" keep it interesting! This project was pretty simple to make with the plans I went with, and turned out great!


As I'm expanding my repertoire of what I can do with wood, I can't wait to see what speaks to me next!


Until next time!


-Kevin

3,958 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page