top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

A Simple Solution to a Tough Question Down the Road...


We live in Florida. Sunshine State. Hot ALL the time. No Chimneys.


Now, my daughter is only 2 years old, but I know this question is coming down the pipe one day:


"Dad, how does Santa get in to deliver our presents when we don't have a chimney?"


*tires screeching*


Luckily, this project pretty much took care of that!


Now, I can't take all the credit. This was actually inspired by a sign I saw at the Renninger's Antique Show in Mount Dora. The sign was a little on the pricey side when I saw it, and too bright! I wanted something a little more rustic and muted. So, when I got home, I got to work.


I started on the frame before anything else. I used reclaimed barn wood that I got for $2 a plank. I cut it to the proper width and length and 45 degree angles on the ends. I used wood glue and clamped it all together for a couple days. For good measure, I used some staples across the joints on the reverse side.


I found a super-thin piece of plywood in my stash of scraps to serve as the background. I whitewashed it a little to give it a more muted look. I secured it to the back of the frame using screws. Then it was time to start the lettering!


I got sharpie paint pens specifically for this project. They offer more control than a paintbrush, especially for someone who prefers to draw (like me!). I laid out the design with light pencil, and went over it with red sharpie paint pen. This worked SO WELL! Super impressed with this product, and I would definitely recommend using these!


When I saw the sign at the antique show, I instantly started looking for things at the show that I could use to make it. The key was part of a 3-piece set on a ring; the one I selected was the most ornate of the set. I figured Santa would need the most ornate key possible. I mean, he is Santa, after all.


A clear coat of poly over the painted part, and this sign was complete! Crisis avoided! It's a Christmas miracle!!


-Kevin



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page