top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

A Sign For Olivia's Kitchen


**Check out the previous post if you haven't already to see the kitchen my daughter Olivia got for Christmas! This post will make a lot more sense that way!


So, when I made Olivia's kitchen, I felt like it was missing a "custom" touch. A quaint little sign above her mirror seemed like just the thing!


I started with some 3/4" common board I had lying around. I routed the edges to give it some nice detail. I laid out the design for the lettering with a pencil free-handed, and then routed the letters out. This was the most difficult part, because routers tend to "pull" with the grain. So, taking my time on this part was mandatory to prevent any mistakes!


When my wife and I first started talking about girl names, we landed on the name "Olivia" really quickly; it was the only name we were 100% sure about and we both agreed on. We are big fans of the "Olivia the Pig" books, which served as some inspiration. When she was a couple months old, we actually discovered that they had turned Olivia into an animated series! Well, my daughter loved watching it and it really helped her with identifying and pronouncing her name. Hence the wood-burned silhouette of Olivia the Pig in the top right corner. My daughter picked up on that little homage immediately!


After some sanding, I added paint and a clear-coat to finish it off. This project was fun because it was an addition to an existing project, and I got to use colors and materials that weren't out of sight or out of mind just yet. And, like I said, it really pulls her kitchen together!


-Kevin



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page