top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDIY Dad

A "Familia" Birthday Design


I was struggling with what to get my father for his birthday; he's notoriously difficult to shop for. He always pulls the "you don't have to get me anything" routine, which makes it insanely difficult for his loved ones to buy him things he likes (insert frustrated emoji here).


So, I found a couple pieces of scrap common board in my workshop and got to work. I used a Buttermilk Farmhouse font for the word "familia;" this wasn't as hard to cut out as the "Dad's Shop Sign" was, but it did have a great deal of curved lines. This was a new challenge! So, I took my time, and made sure I didn't make any mistakes.


I sanded the final product down and spray-painted it a cream color. See, I learned from my mistake on the last project! Spray painting the word lightly produced a nice effect; the color covered nicely, but the wood grain was still lightly visible.


The background piece was stained with Minwax dark walnut stain and the edges were routed for that finished look.


After gluing the "familia" to the background using liquid nails and letting it fully cure, I drilled a couple holes on each side. Using thick twine I found at Home Depot, I threaded it through and secured it with staples using a staple gun to the back.


I purchased some mini clipboard clips at Jo-ann Fabrics and secured them to the sign about 5 inches apart. This would leave enough room on the board for (3) 4inX4in pictures (Instagram sized). I picked a bunch of pictures of my dad with my daughter and had them printed straight from Instagram. I chose my 3 favorites and gave him the rest in his card. He was amazed when he opened it, and he put it up right away! It's still hanging in his entry-way of his house, and it's the first thing you see!


-Kevin

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page